Association purpose

Home/About us/Association purpose
Association purpose 2017-06-28T21:12:43+00:00

In 1986, former collaborators and close friends of Jean Monnet formed the Friends of the Jean Monnet Association.

Two years later, in 1988, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Jean Monnet’s birth, the European Community decreed the “Jean Monnet European Year”. In the same year, to pay a final tribute to this great man, François Mitterrand, the French President, decided to transfer his ashes to the Panthéon.

From its origin, the goal of the Association has been to transmit the memory of Jean Monnet, his work and his teachings.

Every day, the Jean Monnet Association does its best to revive the spirit and lucidity of the vision of one of the founders of the European Community, a necessary prerequisite for understanding the current issues involved in the construction and activities of the European union. The Association endeavours to convey the values of the Union, such as peace, solidarity, tolerance and common interest, and to shed light on European integration and current issues in today’s Europe.

By organizing more than 250 lectures per year, mainly held at the Jean Monnet House near Paris, for groups and individuals from all backgrounds, the Association helps to bring the EU closer to its citizens. At the same time, the Association is leading or participating in other projects with the same objective, and faithful to the spirit of Jean Monnet who wanted to unite the peoples of Europe, also takes part in events which encourage dialogue and intercultural discovery.

Follow us on Facebook or subscribe to our Newsletter to be aware of all our events.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our Newsletter to be aware of all our events.

Newsletter subscription

Objet social

Home/Qui sommes-nous ?/Objet social
Objet social 2017-07-03T09:33:42+00:00

En 1986, d’anciens collaborateurs et proches de Jean Monnet créent l’Association des Amis de Jean Monnet.

Deux ans plus tard, en 1988, décrétée « Année Européenne Jean Monnet » à l’occasion du centenaire de sa naissance, le président François Mitterrand rend un ultime hommage de la patrie à ce « Grand Homme », en faisant transférer ses cendres aux Panthéon à l’occasion d’une cérémonie solennelle réunissant les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement des pays européens.

Depuis son origine, l’Association Jean Monnet a pour principal objet la transmission de la mémoire et l’héritage de celui qui est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des Pères de l’Europe.

Aujourd’hui encore, elle continue de partager avec un public toujours plus nombreux la force des actions et des enseignements de Jean Monnet. Maintenir l’héritage de Jean Monnet, c’est aussi contribuer au développement et au renforcement de l’héritage qu’il nous a légué, l’Union européenne. C’est pourquoi l’Association s’attache à véhiculer les valeurs de l’Union, la paix, la solidarité, la tolérance et l’intérêt commun, ainsi qu’à apporter un éclairage sur la construction européenne et l’actualité de l’Europe d’aujourd’hui.

En organisant chaque année plus de 250 conférences principalement sur le site de la Maison de Jean Monnet dans les Yvelines, et à destination de tous les publics venus de tous horizons, l’Association contribue à rapprocher l’UE et ses citoyens. Parallèlement à cela, l’Association mène ou participe à d’autres projets dans ce même objectif, et fidèle à l’esprit de Jean Monnet qui souhaitait unir les peuples d’Europe, prend également part à des événements visant à encourager le dialogue et la découverte interculturelle.

Retrouvez les actualités de l’Association sur sa page Facebook ou en vous abonnant à la Newsletter

NEWSLETTER

Retrouvez les actualités de l’Association Jean Monnet en vous abonnant à la Newsletter.

Inscription Newsletter