Jean Monnet, a man of conviction

Home/Jean Monnet, a man of conviction
Jean Monnet, a man of conviction 2017-07-03T11:07:30+00:00

Jean Monnet, Founding Father of the European Union, an unparalleled political and economic advisor, certainly belonged to this second category.

Portrait de Jean Monnet
Bouteille de Cognac Monnet

A bottle of Monnet cognac.

Jean Monnet was born on November 9, 1888 in Cognac. At the age of 16, he left his native land for England, Scandinavia, Russia, Egypt, Canada and the United States for the first time to represent his father’s cognac trading enterpriseAfter years of traveling, he returned to France in 1914 when the First World War broke out. He immediately placed himself at the service of the State and proposed to the President of the Council to set up a plan for the coordination of Allied war resources, bringing France and Great Britain closer together.

After the war, Jean Monnet became one of the most respected financial experts in the world without ever having done great studies: in the 1920s, he participated in the economic recovery of certain countries of Central and Eastern Europe; in 1929, he founded and co-presided Bancamerica-Blair; from 1934 to 1936, he stayed in China as an adviser to Chiang Kai-check. When World War II approached, Jean Monnet was appointed by Edouard Daladier to negotiate with Washington, then London. In 1940, he inspired de Gaulle and Churchill to plan for a Franco-British union to confront Nazism, a project that was rejected by Marshal Petain.

We find once again Jean Monnet, the visionary, in Algiers in 1943, who first proposed a “European construction”. He drafted the “Memorandum of Algiers” which lays down the basic principles of the European Union: in order to maintain the conditions of peace in Europe, “the European states must form a federation or a European entity which will make it a common economic unit”. He continued to enhance his project of Europe until the conditions for its realization were met, that is to say in May 1950.

Le CFLN, Alger 1943.

The CFLN, Algiers, 1943.
Jean Monnet is seated back left.

He was appointed head of the French National Economic Planning Commission in 1946 and designed the Monnet Plan, a plan for modernization and equipment that enabled France to revive the French economy.

In 1950, when tensions at the international level rose, Jean Monnet and his team worked together to design the European Community. On May 9, 1950, with the agreement of Chancellor Adenauer, Robert Schuman made a proposal on behalf of the French government, proposal drafted by Jean Monnet, to place the entire Franco-German production of coal and steel under a common High Authority open to other European countries. Immediately, the Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands responded favorably. This way, the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was created, laying the foundations for the European Community. In 1952, Jean Monnet became the first president of the High Authority.

Version finale de la Déclaration Schuman.

Final version of the Schuman Déclaration.

After the failure of the European Defense Community (EDC) in 1953, Jean Monnet founded the Action Committee for the United States of Europe, often referred to as the Monnet Committee.  The Committee, which brings together European political parties and trade unions, becomes a real breeding ground for European integration, such as the creation of the common market, the common monetary system, the European Council, or the British accession and the election of the European Parliament by universal suffrage.

Séance du Comité d'action pour les États-Unis d'Europe, 8-9 mai 1965

Session of the Action Committee for the United States of Europe, 8-9 May 1965.

As a crowning achievement, on April 2, 1976 the European Heads of State and Government awarded Jean Monnet with the title of ‘Honorary Citizen of Europe’ because he “devoted the greater part of his talents to the European cause and deserved a very special mark of gratitude and admiration from Europe.” He has already retired from politics and is writing his memoirs at his house in Houjarray. On March 16, 1979, he passed away at the age of ninety. To commemorate the centenary of his birth, by decision of the President of the French Republic, François Mitterrand, Jean Monnet’s remains were transferred to be interred at the Panthéon in Paris on 9 November.

Ceremony of November 9, 1988: transfer of Jean Monnet’s remains to the Paris Panthéon.

Quotation from a speech given by François Mitterrand, former French President, during the transfer of Jean Monnet’s remains to the Paris Panthéon.

Find Jean Monnet’s life in his Mémoires, published by Fayard or in Livre de Poche, both available in French and English at our gift shop.

Jean Monnet, un homme de conviction

Home/Jean Monnet, un homme de conviction
Jean Monnet, un homme de conviction 2017-06-28T21:51:14+00:00

Jean Monnet, père fondateur de l’Union européenne, conseiller politique et économique hors pair, appartenait décidément à cette deuxième catégorie.

Portrait de Jean Monnet
Bouteille de Cognac Monnet

Une bouteille de cognac Monnet.

Jean Monnet naît le 9 novembre 1888 à Cognac. A l’âge de 16 ans, il quitte pour la première fois sa terre natale pour l’Angleterre, puis la Scandinavie, la Russie, l’Egypte, le Canada et les Etats-Unis, pour y représenter l’entreprise de négoce de cognac de son père. Après des années de voyage, il revient en France en 1914 alors que la Première Guerre mondiale éclate. Il se met immédiatement au service d’Etat et propose au Président du Conseil de mettre en place un plan de coordination des ressources de guerre alliées, en rapprochant la France et la Grande Bretagne.

Après la guerre, sans jamais n’avoir fait de grandes études, Jean Monnet devient l’un des experts financiers les plus respectés au monde : dans les années 20, il participe au redressement économique de certains pays de l’Europe centrale et de l’Est ; en 1929, il fonde et co-préside Bancamerica-Blair; de 1934 à 1936, il séjourne en Chine en tant que conseiller de Tchang Kaï-check. 

Lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale approche, Jean Monnet est mandaté par Edouard Daladier pour négocier avec Washington, puis Londres. En 1940, il inspire à de Gaulle et Churchill le projet d’une union franco-britannique pour faire face au nazisme, projet qui fut écarté par le maréchal Pétain.

On retrouve Jean Monnet, le visionnaire, à Alger en 1943, qui le premier propose une « construction européenne ». Il y rédige le « Mémorandum d’Alger » qui jette les principes de base de l’Union européenne : pour maintenir les conditions de la paix en Europe, « il faut que les États d’Europe se forment en une fédération ou une entité européenne qui en fasse une unité économique commune ». Il continue à parfaire son projet d’Europe jusqu’au moment où les conditions de sa réalisation seront réunies, c’est-à-dire en mai 1950.

Le CFLN, Alger 1943.

Le CFLN, Alger 1943.
Jean Monnet est au fond à gauche.

Nommé à la tête du Commissariat général au plan à la Libération en 1946, il conçoit le « Plan Monnet », un plan de modernisation et d’équipement qui a permis à la France de relancer l’économie française.

En 1950, alors que les tensions au niveau international montent, Jean Monnet conçoit avec son équipe le projet de Communauté européenne. Le 9 mai 1950, avec l’accord du chancelier Adenauer, Robert Schuman fait une proposition au nom du gouvernement français – rédigée par Jean Monnet – visant à placer l’ensemble de la production franco-allemande de charbon et d’acier sous une Haute autorité commune ouverte à d’autres pays d’Europe. Aussitôt la RFA, l’Italie, la Belgique, le Luxembourg et les Pays-Bas y répondent favorablement. Ainsi naît la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l’acier (CECA), jetant les bases de la Communauté européenne. En 1952, Jean Monnet devient le premier président de la Haute autorité.

Version finale de la Déclaration Schuman.

Version finale de la Déclaration Schuman.

Après l’échec de la Communauté européenne de défense (CED) en 1953, Jean Monnet fonde le Comité d’action pour les Etats-Unis d’Europe, souvent désigné sous le nom « Comité Monnet ». Regroupant les partis politiques et les syndicats européens, le Comité devient un véritable terreau d’initiatives en faveur de l’intégration européenne, comme la création du marché commun, du système monétaire commun, du conseil européen, ou encore l’adhésion britannique et l’élection du Parlement européen au suffrage universel.

Séance du Comité d'action pour les États-Unis d'Europe, 8-9 mai 1965

Séance du Comité d’action pour les États-Unis d’Europe, 8-9 mai 1965.

Pour ses efforts en faveur du rapprochement des pays européens, le 2 avril 1976 Jean Monnet reçoit le titre de  « Citoyen d’honneur de l’Europe », décerné par les chefs d’État et de gouvernement réunis en Conseil européen. Il s’est déjà retiré de la politique et rédige à ce moment ses mémoires dans sa maison d’Houjarray. Le 16 mars 1979, il s’éteint à l’âge de quatre-vingt-dix ans. Pour commémorer le centenaire de sa naissance, sur décision du président de la République François Mitterrand, les cendres de Jean Monnet sont transférées le 9 novembre 1988 au Panthéon à Paris.

Cérémonie du 9 novembre 1988 : transfert des cendres de Jean Monnet au Panthéon.

François Mitterrand, ancien Président de la République, allocution prononcée lors du transfert des cendres de Jean Monnet au Panthéon.

Retrouvez la vie de Jean Monnet dans ses Mémoires, aux éditions Fayard ou en Livre de Poche, tous deux disponibles à la boutique en français et en anglais.